MERRIWEATHER

So I thought this place was called “Vine” for about two weeks, because the name of the building in which Merriweather lives is called Vine. No wonder urbanspoon searches kept sending me to Vine in New Farm.

We decided to be “decadent” on our wedding anniversary (6 years, a-thank-you) and go to lunch but get coffee somewhere separate. Merriweather has a sunny and open aspect opposite Musgrave Park so we thought we’d grab a coffee there.

IMAG2526

There was table service and we both ordered soy lattes. I had a look at the menu and was tempted by the potato and leek hash cakes but knew I had lunch waiting for me elsewhere today.  I was also taken by how beautiful the pastries looked- delicate Madeleines and syrupy cakes- but really need to make my second day of “no sugar” work (especially after being served ice cream in my coffee yesterday! Oops). I eyed off people’s passing poached eggs, which seemed well made. The espresso cups were all black or greeny-blue ceramic and very pretty on the shiny new espresso machine and wooden benches.

The place was bustly and full but didn’t seem packed or rushed and our coffees arrived promptly. The milk was well done and the coffee was, I think, a well poured drop of a lighter, single origin variety. Looking online, Merriweather gets their beans from Cup, a good sign in my books. This wasn’t, in my humble and bastardly opinion, an earthy deep coffee but that’s not what you tend to get with single origin anyway. We both really enjoyed it, especially Ben, who drinks more hot coffee than me anyway.

Although I plan to get food here some time in my sugary future, for now I’ll be happy coming here for lovely decor,  prompt service and nice coffee.


Merriweather on Urbanspoon

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “MERRIWEATHER

  1. Cherie says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire
    someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    appreciate it

    • Hi Cherie,
      I use WordPress. I created my own banner for the top picture but everyrhing else is a wordpress template. I’m glad you like the design. Thankbyou for stopping by.

    • Hi Cherie,

      I thought I’d responded from my mobile but it obviously did not come through, sorry. I just chose a wordpress theme and put the banner together using some of my photos. I tried to use fairly high quality photos and chose a theme that imitated what I admire in other people’s websites. Nothing fancy or paid for! Thank you for your nice comment.

Reply to this

