Australians just don’t do red velvet

So I was asked to make red velvet macarons for a friend’s hen’s night. So yes, play dough penises and drinking games abounded. The problem was, I loaned my piping bag to someone so they could ice cupcakes. Instead, I make red velvet cookies. I found the link here, but I warn you, it’s very spammy so you’ll need to exit out of a lot of ads.

I really don’t get the appeal of adding FOUR tablespoons of synthetic dyes when without the dyes, you would have had a perfectly fine white chocolate cookie, but that’s just me I guess. I now have a bottle of red food dye. Perhaps a non-edible dying project is in order?

They turned out a little fugly (ok, a lot fugly, but I was taking them out of the oven 5 minutes before I had to be there- I was rushed!) but I was told they taste like Subway cookies.

Complement? I think it was intended as such.

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Australians just don’t do red velvet

  1. sophiebowns says:

    Is red velvet just chocolate?

  2. Hi!

    Could you elaborate on the spam that you are experiencing on cookingclassy.com. I do NOT intend for any spam(pop ups) to happen. Does it happen every time you visit or was it a one time thing? Thanks in advance! And I hope you liked the cookies!

    • Hi Cooking Classy,
      I’ve gone back to your website and had no problems- perhaps it was temporary or on my end? It happened two or three times when I was originally looking up your recipe. I can’t even remember what the ads were for. The good thing is, I have been able to go and look at the rest of your site 🙂

Reply to this

